Learn the rules to the Chess Variant: Plunder Chess quickly and concisely – This video has no distractions, just the rules. For a refresher of the original Chess rules, check out this video:
Don’t own the game? Buy it here:
Play regular chess online for free here:
(As an chess.com affiliate we earn from qualifying subscriptions)
The rules are the same as regular chess, except for these changes. During setup place the vests to the side. Whenever a piece is captured, the capturing piece has the option to plunder the captured pieces moves. To plunder the moves, take an available vest from the side of the board that matches the captured piece and place it onto the capturing piece. If you capture a piece that already has a vest on it, then you may plunder that piece’s vest instead if you like. Pieces may only have 1 vest at a time.
A piece with a vest is allowed to perform any legal move of the piece’s symbol on that vest 1 time. This is called a vest-move. After a vest-move, remove the vest from the piece and return it to the side of the board so it can be used again later if needed. Pieces may still perform conventional moves while wearing a vest without losing that vest’s ability. If you capture a piece with a conventional move while wearing a vest, you must either decline plundering the new piece or you must remove your current vest before plundering the new one.
If you capture a piece with a vest-move, you must first remove the current vest before plundering your opponent’s piece. You do not have to plunder if you don’t want to, but you may not plunder the vest at a later time. You may not plunger a piece that has the same moving capability as the capturing piece. For example, a queen may not plunder a rook, bishop, or queen. All pieces, except for pawns, may plunder pawns to gain their en passant move. Knights, bishops and kings may also plunder a pawn’s double step move option in addition to the condition of being captured from en passant. A king may not use a pawn vest-move for the double step move if en passant is present.
The pawn vest does not allow any piece to promote to a higher rank piece. Pawns are allowed to use their vest-move in order to promote. If a pawn wearing a vest uses a conventional move to promote, then whatever vest it is currently wearing will be transferred to the promoted piece so long as that vest adds movement potential to the promoted piece. Promoted pieces may not gain a pawn vest upon promotion nor does a pawn-vest promote to a different vest when reaching the farthest row.
If a pawn uses a vest-move to return to the 2nd row, it regains it’s double step move option as well as the ability to be captured via en passant.
A knight vest-move allows pieces to jump over other pieces. Castling is allowed like normal unless a vest-move threatens an open space between the king and rook.
Vests automatically and immediately check an opponent’s king. There is no limit to the number of time a vest can check a king. It is also possible for a king to check or even checkmate their opponent with a vest so long as they remain out of check. Kings may use their vest-move to escape check. A king’s vest-move is allowed to slide through check so long as the king doesn’t end on a space in check.
I have a question
So to wear a vest you must capture a piece right ? And to play a double step move with a pawn vest it must of been your first move . So how to play a double step move while you already moved to capture a piece ?
So that's how shotgun king souls work
The variants are the best thing about this channel and I'm all for it.
I like this a lot you could just get rubber bands or rings and be able to play
chess but trading is bad. got it.
This opens up so many new strategies!
So black shotgun king
Why there are king vests you cannot capture the king
0:12 & 0:25
if capturing a piece gives the option for vest (captured piece movement), then how does the KINGS VEST works?
Chess 666 how to play
Whats the point of king vest?
wait, can a knight-vested piece always jump even when using their normal move options? sounds very op so i don't think its legal but it was a bit unclear to me
Bishops can finally change their squares’s colour! Lol
I thought the title says "How to play blunder chess."
Ok this ones really cool. It is very similar to the variants of chess that allow you to combined the moves of captured pieces, but making it a one use item that you actually have to think about taking or using is so unique. Also the vest are just aesthetically pleasing.
Also also, this is literally a mechanic used in Shotgun King and I played that recently.
Nobody is going to talk about how the knight looks?
first good chess variant
Wait! What? How do you win this game? 😅
I like that this variant of chess allows the King to be pretty much a walking checkmate from anywhere on the board. The memes that can ensue.
slender knight is cursed
Trinston was here. .
"for a remainder of these rules…" good thing we don't need that remainder, since the link is missing 😂
If queen captures a knight she becomes Juan
What does the king vest do?
pawns seem like they'd be overpowered in this. A pawn that can get a vest move can pretty easily promote, and a rook with a pawn vest move would be incredibly powerful when going for a checkmate. A bishop with a pawn vest move would be able to change square color.
Okay, hear me out here:
Sovereign Plunder Chess.
The rules are the same as regular Plunder, except for these changes
kinda like shotgun king’s soul mechanic, huh?
What happens if there aren't any more vests to use? I see that most of them have 2. Do you just not take a vest, or do you imagine that there is a vest on them?
Wait so he says that the queen may not plunder a rook bishop and a queen but he forgot to mention pawns
Y’all ever just brutally murder your opponent’s knight and rip his horse’s flesh off to use as a one-time ticket to move over one unnecessary pawn?
Yeah, me neither.
Image how creepy this game would of been if those pieces were called skirts instead of vests.
Why are there king vests?
A variant of the game I came up with that will override some of the rules of the original Plunder Chess:
Vests can be stacked.
Vests are permanent, but they are weaker than the captured piece itself (except for knight and king vests, which start at full potency).
Any sliding piece vest (including Pawn's) move can move one square beyond the original bounds of the piece for each vest.
For example, a Bishop with 1 Rook vest can slide 1 square orthogonally.
Another example could be that a Rook with 2 knight vests can hop either 3 squares horizontally and 1 square vertically, or 2 of each, or 1 square horizontal and 3 vertical.
You may only accept 1 vest at a time.
For example, a Pawn captures a Knight with a Bishop vest, and it can only take either the Knight vest or the Bishop vest.
You may plunder for a later capture, but it is only usable 1 time. This temporary vest usage is signified by putting the vest on upside down.
You may plunder a piece that has the same moving capabilities as the capturing piece.
Pawn moves get amplified one square forwards per vest.
Knight moves get amplified one square in either direction per vest, you choose.
Bishop moves can hop at minimum 2 squares diagonally like a knight, and for each vest beyond the 1st one, they amplify this movement by 1.
Rook moves are the same as the bishop but orthogonally.
Queen moves are the same as the rook and the bishop, plus they can amplify this hopping ability in either diagonally or orthogonally using Bishop and Rook vests respectively.
King moves are amplified 1 square in each direction per vest.
If you use a double step move (2 additional moves forward instead of 1) or an en passant move or promote using pawn vests, remove one pawn vest each time you use any of those moves.
Promoted pawns gain the pawn vest, but flipped upside down.
Pawn vests can promote to other vests, but it cannot be a recently promoted pawn (the same turn that a pawn promoted, as that can gain the pawn vest) and the vest of choice to promote to will be flipped upside down.
A true checkmate ends with the capture of all pieces, but a king cannot move into check.
The player that is in faux checkmate must move a piece, which can include the King that is in a faux checkmate. That player gets a King vest on any piece they choose, including the King if it survived the opposing player's turn. The King may therefore be captured after a faux checkmate.
If a player has 2 of a piece's vests, then they may sacrifice those vests to bring that piece onto the board.
This variant of Plunder Chess requires 16 of each piece's vests due to the stacking.
I might buy it next month. Would buy it this month, but my gaming budget went to a certain color-based card game that I'm sure will be just as fun 😉
Sounds like a good inVESTment of time!
Queen plundered knight =SUPERB
Why is there a King vest, though?
This IS the "vest" variant
but can rook vests castle?
There is a very challenging game to explain its rules, it is a customized monopoly called Ultimate Monopoly
Looks like good fun!
Can a rook-vest be used to castle?
I have had one of these chess boards for almost ten years now. I'm glad someone is finally talking about it!
(Or maybe there's always been a community for it but I haven't seen them yet)
Finally… Chess update!
Give the black side king a shotgun and remove all other black pieces and you basically get a certain other game lol
so- can you promote to an equivalent or lower rank piece? or no promotion at all
What happens with a pawn in the first row? Does it only move normally, or can it advance two rows?
they turned the knight into a llama!
It’s very cool to see all these commercial variants of chess instead I’d looking through a 900 page wiki on every varient and wondering if you could play them