Learn the rules to the Chess Variant: Plunder Chess quickly and concisely – This video has no distractions, just the rules. For a refresher of the original Chess rules, check out this video:
Don’t own the game? Buy it here:
Play regular chess online for free here:
(As an chess.com affiliate we earn from qualifying subscriptions)
The rules are the same as regular chess, except for these changes. During setup place the vests to the side. Whenever a piece is captured, the capturing piece has the option to plunder the captured pieces moves. To plunder the moves, take an available vest from the side of the board that matches the captured piece and place it onto the capturing piece. If you capture a piece that already has a vest on it, then you may plunder that piece’s vest instead if you like. Pieces may only have 1 vest at a time.
A piece with a vest is allowed to perform any legal move of the piece’s symbol on that vest 1 time. This is called a vest-move. After a vest-move, remove the vest from the piece and return it to the side of the board so it can be used again later if needed. Pieces may still perform conventional moves while wearing a vest without losing that vest’s ability. If you capture a piece with a conventional move while wearing a vest, you must either decline plundering the new piece or you must remove your current vest before plundering the new one.
If you capture a piece with a vest-move, you must first remove the current vest before plundering your opponent’s piece. You do not have to plunder if you don’t want to, but you may not plunder the vest at a later time. You may not plunger a piece that has the same moving capability as the capturing piece. For example, a queen may not plunder a rook, bishop, or queen. All pieces, except for pawns, may plunder pawns to gain their en passant move. Knights, bishops and kings may also plunder a pawn’s double step move option in addition to the condition of being captured from en passant. A king may not use a pawn vest-move for the double step move if en passant is present.
The pawn vest does not allow any piece to promote to a higher rank piece. Pawns are allowed to use their vest-move in order to promote. If a pawn wearing a vest uses a conventional move to promote, then whatever vest it is currently wearing will be transferred to the promoted piece so long as that vest adds movement potential to the promoted piece. Promoted pieces may not gain a pawn vest upon promotion nor does a pawn-vest promote to a different vest when reaching the farthest row.
If a pawn uses a vest-move to return to the 2nd row, it regains it’s double step move option as well as the ability to be captured via en passant.
A knight vest-move allows pieces to jump over other pieces. Castling is allowed like normal unless a vest-move threatens an open space between the king and rook.
Vests automatically and immediately check an opponent’s king. There is no limit to the number of time a vest can check a king. It is also possible for a king to check or even checkmate their opponent with a vest so long as they remain out of check. Kings may use their vest-move to escape check. A king’s vest-move is allowed to slide through check so long as the king doesn’t end on a space in check.
1:54 Best. Game. Ever.
The queen with the knight vest is op
Now imagine the raw chaos that would be Faerie Musketeer Plunderchess with different armies on a really big board
chess but the soul cards from shotgun king
this is just shotgun king soul move
I thought that the Knight was a Llama…
Also…how does the King vest work?
Are you allowed to promote to the same piece and can kings promote?
oh this practically opens up so many ways to checkmate/trap people om-
The knight looks phalic
do pieces with a king vest gain the ability to castle?
1:01 is no one talking about how a PAWN captured a queen?
Queen itself is powerful enough to check in a lot of ways, now add her the Knight Vest and you have a virtually-impossible to kill troop.
Rooks and Queens should also be able to plunder pawn's double step move option to let opponent's pawn take en passant, which could avoid stalemate.
I love how for the vests to work, they had to make the knight look like a llama
Sees the King with a Queen Cloths Checkmate another King made me Laugh so hard.
But why are there king vests (can’t capture king)
Knight's vests are super useful.
-let bishops change the color they're on
-let the queen checkmate without any support
-get pieces over pawn chains
-allow your king to trap an enemy king against a wall or corner in some endgames, without the help of other pieces (rooks can also trap kings in the corners with it)
i have a question why they have king vest?
How would you get a king vest?
Idea: infinity chess. The goal of the game is to use your king to defeat all of the other pieces and gain their powers. The catch is once the king gets a vest, they can use it for the rest of the game. If the king is captured at any point the king loses but if the king gets all 5 vests, the king wins
May was only 4 months ago?
Why are there King vests if you cannot capture Kings?
At last, en horsant (en passant with knight) is finally possible
I thought it was called “Blunder Chess” as in blunder, lol.
can the knight get a king vest?
Reminds of "Shotgun King : The Final Checkmate", it has soul cards you gain upon killing a piece that function similarly.
EN PASSANT BOZO
Why is there a king vest? (purple)
vest move sounds like a pokemon thing xD
What if a pawn uses a vest move to capture an enemy piece on the back row, say, knight?
Would it be pawn uses vest to capture knight, plunders knight, gets knight vest, promotes and the vest is transferred? Or do I have the order of operations wrong
Why are there vests for the king? It can never be captured.
Can you castle with a piece with a rook vest?
Ok this is cool!
Wait, why is there a king vest?
Wait why is there a king vest?
Finally, Amazon Queen is possible.
Upgraded version of Chess+ (Chessplus).
What's with the king vest?
brooo ohio horse
This means it is now possible to play shotgun king in real life
Its the soul macanik from shotgun king but all the peces have it
Yeah that knight piece is looking a little too… erect
Shotgun King's Soul Cards be like:
I have a question
If rook or queen with pawn plunder moves 2 squares forward from second rank can they be en passanted?
Ah, yes, now nobody is safe from the Queen. She hath knighted herself!
a queen with a knight vest sound terrifying